be foodie » Category » breakfast http://befoodie.net food, kitchens, table settings... Tue, 06 Aug 2013 15:13:06 +0000 en-US hourly 1 http://wordpress.org/?v=3.5.1 Breakfast Hash /breakfast-hash/ /breakfast-hash/#comments Sat, 13 Jul 2013 11:36:50 +0000 admin /?p=2863
Ingredients
3 potatoes, quartered
2 large sausage links (any flavor you prefer- we used organic smoked chicken sausage with spinach and feta)
1 avocado, chopped into small cubes
2 eggs
3 cloves minced garlic
1 tbsp olive oil
1 sprig fresh rosemary
1 sprig fresh thyme
1/4 tsp chili flakes
1 cup fresh salad greens (spinach or kale)
1/2 tsp paprika
salt and pepper
Preparation method

]]>
/breakfast-hash/feed/ 0
Chorizo Tofu Benedicts /chorizo-tofu-benedicts/ /chorizo-tofu-benedicts/#comments Thu, 20 Jun 2013 23:17:08 +0000 admin /?p=2408
Ingredients
1 teaspoon oil
1 small yellow onion
2 cloves garlic, minced
Vegan chorizo, crumbled (stourbough or homemade)
350g firm tofu, slightly pressed
Hollandaise sauce
1 avocado, halved, pit removed and cut into slices
2 english muffins, split into halves and toasted
Green onion, for garnish
Chipotle powder, for garnish
Preparation method

]]>
/chorizo-tofu-benedicts/feed/ 0
Avocado Green Tea Power /avocado-green-tea-power/ /avocado-green-tea-power/#comments Mon, 17 Jun 2013 18:17:51 +0000 admin /?p=2365 Avocado-Green-Tea-Smoothie-3
Ingredients
1 tsp matcha green tea powder
1 tbsp hot water
1/2 medium avocado
1/2 cup Greek yogurt
1/4 cup vanilla whey protein powder
2 tsp Swerve Sweetener or granulated erythritol
1 1/4 cup unsweetened almond milk
Preparation method

]]>
/avocado-green-tea-power/feed/ 0
Paleo Breakfast Bake /paleo-breakfast-bake/ /paleo-breakfast-bake/#comments Mon, 17 Jun 2013 17:59:16 +0000 admin /?p=2358
Ingredients
½ ripe avocado
1/2 very ripe plantain banana (or regular banana)
2 whole eggs
½ cup raw zucchini, grated
½ cup raw cauliflower, grated
1 tbsp date paste
1 tsp pure vanilla extract
Preparation method

]]>
/paleo-breakfast-bake/feed/ 0
Strawberries for Breakfast /strawberries-for-breakfast/ /strawberries-for-breakfast/#comments Wed, 12 Jun 2013 19:01:06 +0000 admin /?p=2307 z
Ingredients
1 banana
5 strawberries
5 frozen raspberries
1 tbs oat flakes
200 ml oat milk
Preparation method

]]>
/strawberries-for-breakfast/feed/ 0
Crispy Skillet Rosemary Potatoes /crispy-skillet-rosemary-potatoes/ /crispy-skillet-rosemary-potatoes/#comments Tue, 04 Jun 2013 19:17:51 +0000 admin /?p=2240 Ingredients
2 to 3 Tbsp. olive oil
1 sprig fresh rosemary
3/4 tsp. coarse sea salt or kosher salt
8 to 10 small red potatoes or other waxy potatoes
Preparation method

]]>
/crispy-skillet-rosemary-potatoes/feed/ 0
Idaho Sunrise (Baked Eggs & Bacon in Potato) /idaho-sunrise-baked-eggs-bacon-in-potato/ /idaho-sunrise-baked-eggs-bacon-in-potato/#comments Mon, 27 May 2013 19:43:13 +0000 admin /?p=2086
Ingredients
1 large baked potato (russett or sweet)
1 Tbsp. butter
2 eggs
2 strips bacon, cooked and crumbled
2 Tbsp. shredded cheddar or gouda cheese
1 Tbsp. fresh parsley, chopped
salt and freshly ground black pepper

Preparation method

]]>
/idaho-sunrise-baked-eggs-bacon-in-potato/feed/ 0
Healthy Protein Smoothies /healthy-protein-smoothies/ /healthy-protein-smoothies/#comments Sun, 19 May 2013 11:04:28 +0000 admin /?p=1424 Ingredients
10-12 ounces (300-350 ml) of homemade almond milk (recipe here), or soy, rice, oat, cow, coconut or other milk
1 scoop protein powder
1 small banana
1/2 cup (62 grams) of frozen berries or mango
1-2 tablespoons (10 grams) of fiber
1 teaspoon of omega 3 oil
Superfood supplements as you choose

Preparation method

]]>
/healthy-protein-smoothies/feed/ 0
Chocolate “Protein” Milkshake /chocolate-protein-milkshake/ /chocolate-protein-milkshake/#comments Wed, 15 May 2013 18:16:30 +0000 admin /?p=1230 Ingredients
2 tbsp cocoa powder (10g)
1 cup Mori-Nu firm tofu (240g)
1 1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract
scant 1/4 tsp salt
up to 2 cups milk of choice (480g) (less for a thicker shake.)
sweetener of choice: such as 2-3 tbsp liquid sweetener or sugar, or stevia extract to taste
optional, for an even richer shake: 2 tbsp peanut butter or other nut butter, or 1 tbsp veg or coconut oil

Preparation method

]]>
/chocolate-protein-milkshake/feed/ 0
Herb Roasted Potatoes /herb-roasted-potatoes/ /herb-roasted-potatoes/#comments Tue, 07 May 2013 09:38:15 +0000 admin /?p=1015 Ingredients
1 1/2 pounds Yukon Gold potatoes (I used the small ones)
1 tablespoon fresh parsley, minced
1 tablespoon fresh thyme, minced
1 tablespoon fresh chives, minced
Kosher salt or sea salt, to taste
Fresh ground black pepper, to taste
Paprika

Preparation method

]]>
/herb-roasted-potatoes/feed/ 0
Mexican Chocolate Breakfast Shake /mexican-chocolate-breakfast-shake/ /mexican-chocolate-breakfast-shake/#comments Sat, 04 May 2013 11:02:14 +0000 admin /?p=908 Ingredients
1/2 c. old-fashioned oats
1 c. almond, soy, or coconut milk (I really like using the new Blue Diamond almond/coconut milk blend)
1 tbsp. cocoa powder
1 tsp. cinnamon
agave nectar, honey, maple syrup or other sweetener to taste (I use a tablespoon)
1 small banana, cut into pieces and frozen overnight in a freezer bag

Preparation method

]]>
/mexican-chocolate-breakfast-shake/feed/ 0
Avocado Fries Recipe /865/ /865/#comments Fri, 03 May 2013 18:38:45 +0000 admin /?p=865 Ingredients
¼ cup flour
1 teaspoon salt
2 large eggs (beaten)
1 ¼ cups Panko breadcrumbs
2 firm-ripe avocados (pitted, peeled, and sliced into ½” wedges)
Canola oil (for frying)
Grated parmesan cheese (optional)

Preparation method

]]>
/865/feed/ 0
Cheesy Corn Cakes /cheesy-corn-cakes/ /cheesy-corn-cakes/#comments Fri, 03 May 2013 18:35:41 +0000 admin /?p=862 Ingredients
2 cups corn
1x 400g (14.11 ounces) tin creamed corn
2 eggs
1½ cups grated mature cheddar
½ tsp smoked paprika
1 tsp salt
1½ cups flour
1 tsp baking powder
½ cup milk
2 avocados, chopped
1 small red onion, peeled and finely chopped
1 red chilli, finely chopped (remove seeds if you don’t like it hot)
juice of ½ lemon
salt & pepper to taste
fresh coriander, to serve

Preparation method

]]>
/cheesy-corn-cakes/feed/ 0
Lemon-Blueberry Yogurt Loaf /lemon-blueberry-yogurt-loaf/ /lemon-blueberry-yogurt-loaf/#comments Thu, 02 May 2013 07:56:11 +0000 admin /?p=759
Ingredients

1 1/2 cups + 1 tablespoon all-purpose flour, divided
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
1 cup plain whole-milk yogurt
1 cup sugar
3 large eggs
2 teaspoons grated lemon zest (approximately 2 lemons)
1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
1/2 cup vegetable oil
1 1/2 cups blueberries, fresh or frozen, thawed and rinsed

Preparation method

]]>
/lemon-blueberry-yogurt-loaf/feed/ 0
French Breakfast Muffins /french-breakfast-muffins/ /french-breakfast-muffins/#comments Wed, 01 May 2013 19:40:45 +0000 admin /?p=725 Ingredients
1/3 c. butter, melted
1/2 c. sugar
1 egg (preferably room temperature)
1 1/2 c. all purpose flour
1 1/2 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. salt
1/4 tsp. nutmeg
1/2 c. milk

Preparation method

]]>
/french-breakfast-muffins/feed/ 0
Chocolate Breakfast Shake /chocolate-breakfast-shake/ /chocolate-breakfast-shake/#comments Tue, 23 Apr 2013 18:31:02 +0000 admin /?p=625 Ingredients
1/3 10 oz. block firm tofu
1 small banana, sliced
1.5 tbsp. unsweetened cocoa powder
1/4 cup skim milk
1/2 tsp. vanilla
1.5 tbsp. brown sugar
1/2 cup ice

Preparation method

]]>
/chocolate-breakfast-shake/feed/ 0
Honey Sesame Chicken /honey-sesame-chicken/ /honey-sesame-chicken/#comments Tue, 23 Apr 2013 18:27:48 +0000 admin /?p=622 Ingredients
2 lb boneless, skinless chicken breasts (I’ve used tenderloins too)
1/3 cup low-sodium soy sauce
1/4 cup honey
1/4 cup tomato paste
3 tablespoons rice wine vinegar
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 teaspoon grated ginger
1 tablespoon water
1 teaspoon toasted sesame oil
1 teaspoon onion powder
1 teaspoon sriracha chili sauce
1 tablespoon cornstarch
1/4 cup cold water
sesame seeds (for garnish)
scallions, thinly sliced (for garnish)

Preparation method

]]>
/honey-sesame-chicken/feed/ 0
Lemon Meringue Pie Stuffed Waffles /lemon-meringue-pie-stuffed-waffles/ /lemon-meringue-pie-stuffed-waffles/#comments Sun, 21 Apr 2013 07:56:07 +0000 admin /?p=598 Ingredients
1 cup milk (preferably 2% or whole)
1/3 cup heavy cream
1 1/2 Tbsp lemon zest (zest of about 2 large lemons)
5 large egg yolks
2/3 cup granulated sugar
2 Tbsp cornstarch
1 1/2 Tbsp all-purpose flour
1 pinch salt
1/4 cup fresh lemon juice
1 tsp lemon extract
4 large egg whites
1 cup granulated sugar
1/4 tsp cream of tartar
1 tsp vanilla extract

Preparation method

]]>
/lemon-meringue-pie-stuffed-waffles/feed/ 0
Breakfast Quinoa with Cinnamon-Roasted Fruit /582/ /582/#comments Sun, 21 Apr 2013 07:35:13 +0000 admin /?p=582 Ingredients
2 cups skim milk (or vegan alternative)
1 cinnamon stick
1 cup quinoa, rinsed
3-4 large figs, sliced
1/2 cup blueberries
1-2 tablespoons agave or honey
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

Preparation method

]]>
/582/feed/ 0
California Eggs Benedict /california-eggs-benedict/ /california-eggs-benedict/#comments Thu, 18 Apr 2013 20:40:21 +0000 admin /?p=461 Ingredients

12 tablespoons unsalted butter, room temperature
6 large egg yolks
1/2 cup boiling water
2 teaspoons fresh lemon juice
Pinch black pepper
1/4 teaspoon garlic salt
1/4 teaspoon sea salt
1 teaspoon sriracha sauce, or to taste

Preparation method

]]>
/california-eggs-benedict/feed/ 0
Eggplant Focaccia and The Village Press Dipping Sauce /eggplant-focaccia-and-the-village-press-dipping-sauce/ /eggplant-focaccia-and-the-village-press-dipping-sauce/#comments Thu, 18 Apr 2013 20:32:01 +0000 admin /?p=452 Ingredients

1 medium eggplant, sliced into 1/4-inch slices
1 and 1/2 teaspoons salt
1 pound pizza dough
2 tablespoons cornmeal
6 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
1 cup Emmentaler (or swiss or Gruyere) cheese, shredded
Fresh oregano, for garnish

Preparation method

]]>
/eggplant-focaccia-and-the-village-press-dipping-sauce/feed/ 0
Cheese Soufflé /cheese-souffle/ /cheese-souffle/#comments Tue, 16 Apr 2013 16:10:51 +0000 admin /?p=418 Ingredients
1 teaspoon unsalted butter, softened
4 teaspoon Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese, finely grated
1 and ¼ tablespoon flour
Pinch red pepper
Pinch nutmeg
Pinch black pepper
¼ cup plus 1 tablespoon skim milk
1 tablespoon dry white wine
Pinch sea salt
¼ cup Gruyere cheese, shredded
1 large egg yolk
2 egg whites

Preparation method

]]>
/cheese-souffle/feed/ 0
Eggs Benedict Florentine with Creamy Butter Sauce /eggs-benedict-florentine-with-creamy-butter-sauce/ /eggs-benedict-florentine-with-creamy-butter-sauce/#comments Tue, 16 Apr 2013 16:08:17 +0000 admin /?p=415 Ingredients
1 tablespoon corn starch
1/2 cup water
1/3 cup low-fat buttermilk
2 large eggs
2 tablespoons clarified butter
Salt and pepper, to taste
1 teaspoon olive oil
1 bunch kale, cleaned and leaves torn into pieces
1/2 teaspoon minced garlic
4 large eggs, poached
4 whole wheat English muffins, toasted

Preparation method

]]>
/eggs-benedict-florentine-with-creamy-butter-sauce/feed/ 0
Spaghetti with Bok Choy and Poached Egg /spaghetti-with-bok-choy-and-poached-egg/ /spaghetti-with-bok-choy-and-poached-egg/#comments Tue, 16 Apr 2013 16:04:42 +0000 admin /?p=412 Ingredients
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 bunch bok choy, thinly sliced
1 red bell pepper, thinly sliced
Pinch red pepper flakes
4-5 cloves garlic, minced
1 cup vegetable broth
4 large eggs, poached
1/2 pound whole wheat spaghetti
Green onions, chopped
1/2 cup Parmesan cheese, grated

Preparation method

]]>
/spaghetti-with-bok-choy-and-poached-egg/feed/ 0
Tropical Granola /tropical-granola/ /tropical-granola/#comments Sun, 14 Apr 2013 10:03:28 +0000 admin /?p=297 Ingredients
6 cups rolled oats (gluten free)
¾ cup organic coconut flakes
¾ tsp. sea salt
1 tsp. cinnamon
1/3 cup raw macadamia nuts
1/3 cup honey
1/3 cup agave
2 tsp. pure vanilla
1 ¼ cup unsweetened applesauce
1/3 cup chopped organic, dried papaya
1/3 cup chopped organic, dried figs
1/3 cup chopped, organic mango

Preparation method

]]>
/tropical-granola/feed/ 0
Sauteed Peaches /sauteed-peaches/ /sauteed-peaches/#comments Sat, 13 Apr 2013 10:02:59 +0000 admin /?p=224 Ingredients
2 tablespoons unsalted butter
2 tablespoons sugar
4 large ripe peaches, pitted and each cut into 8 wedges

 

Preparation method

]]>
/sauteed-peaches/feed/ 0
Breakfast Mac & Cheese /breakfast-mac-cheese/ /breakfast-mac-cheese/#comments Fri, 12 Apr 2013 17:55:38 +0000 admin /?p=153 Ingredients
1 pound of pasta (I used cavatelli shaped pasta)
1 pound breakfast sausage, removed from casings and crumbled
1 large onion, diced
1 red pepper, diced
1 green pepper, diced
1 jalapeno pepper, discard seeds and dice
1/2 tbsp garlic salt
1 garlic clove, minced
4 tbsp butter
6 tbsp flour
4 c. whole milk
5 c. colby jack cheese
1 c. pepper jack cheese
salt and pepper to taste
4 eggs

Preparation method

]]>
/breakfast-mac-cheese/feed/ 0
Breakfast Burrito /breakfast-burrito/ /breakfast-burrito/#comments Fri, 12 Apr 2013 17:44:43 +0000 admin /?p=148 Ingredients

1 tsp Coconut Oil, Organic
1 tsp Cumin
1 tsp Garlic Powder
1 tsp Onion Powder
1 tsp Paprika
1/4 lb Ground Beef, or ground turkey
1/8 cup Red Onion, julienned
3 whole Eggs, Pastured
1 tsp Cilantro, for garnish

Preparation method

]]>
/breakfast-burrito/feed/ 0
Chocolate Chip Cookies /chocolate-chip-cookies/ /chocolate-chip-cookies/#comments Fri, 12 Apr 2013 17:38:53 +0000 admin /?p=143 Ingredients
2 cups minus 2 tablespoons (8 1/2 ounces) cake
flour
1 2/3 cups (8 1/2 ounces) bread flour
1 1/4 teaspoons baking soda
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1 1/2 teaspoons coarse salt
2 1/2 sticks (1 1/4 cups) unsalted butter
1 1/4 cups (10 ounces) light brown sugar
1 cup plus 2 tablespoons (8 ounces) granulated
sugar
2 large eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1 1/4 pounds chocolate chips

Preparation method

]]>
/chocolate-chip-cookies/feed/ 0
Blueberry Breakfast Cake /blueberry-breakfast-cake/ /blueberry-breakfast-cake/#comments Fri, 12 Apr 2013 17:31:04 +0000 admin /?p=140 Ingredients
4 cups all-purpose flour
1 tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder
4 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup butter, softened
2 cups sugar
4 eggs
1 cup milk
1/4 cup vegetable oil
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
2-3 cups frozen unsweetened blueberries (depending on size of blueberries)

Preparation method

]]>
/blueberry-breakfast-cake/feed/ 0
Breakfast Quesadillas /breakfast-quesadillas/ /breakfast-quesadillas/#comments Fri, 12 Apr 2013 17:21:54 +0000 admin /?p=136 Ingredients
1 Tablespoon butter
4 large eggs, beaten
1 cup shredded Mexican-blend cheese (or desired cheese)
2 large flour tortillas (not burrito-sized, just large)
tomato, avocado, sour cream, salsa (as desired)

Preparation method

]]>
/breakfast-quesadillas/feed/ 0
Ranchero Breakfast Tostadas /ranchero-breakfast-tostadas/ /ranchero-breakfast-tostadas/#comments Fri, 12 Apr 2013 17:16:44 +0000 admin /?p=130 Ingredients

cups cooked black beans
1/4 to 1/2 cup light sour cream
green onions, white and green parts, chopped
teaspoon ground cumin
1/2 teaspoon sea salt
teaspoon freshly ground pepper
slices cooked bacon, chopped (optional)
small corn tortillas
Extra-virgin olive oil, for brushing
tablespoon coconut oil or unsalted butter
eggs
cup shredded white Cheddar cheese
avocados, peeled and thinly sliced
1/3 cup chopped fresh cilantro
lime, in wedges

Preparation method

]]>
/ranchero-breakfast-tostadas/feed/ 0
Breakfast Pizza /breakfast-pizza/ /breakfast-pizza/#comments Fri, 12 Apr 2013 17:08:58 +0000 admin /?p=126 Ingredients
Pancakes:
2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon sugar
Pinch salt
2 eggs
2 cups milk
1 tablespoon vegetable oil, for griddle

Preparation method

]]>
/breakfast-pizza/feed/ 0
Avocado, Cheese, and Sausage Breakfast Sliders /avocado-cheese-and-sausage-breakfast-sliders/ /avocado-cheese-and-sausage-breakfast-sliders/#comments Fri, 12 Apr 2013 16:59:20 +0000 admin /?p=122 Ingredients
2 medium ripe Avocados from Mexico, halved, pitted, and peeled
1 teaspoon ground cumin
Pinch cayenne pepper
1/4 teaspoon salt
Freshly ground black pepper
1 to 2 teaspoons Sriracha (depending on taste)
1 lime, juiced
4 breakfast sausage patties
4 ounces Jarlsberg cheese, grated

4 miniature bagels, sliced in half

Preparation method

]]>
/avocado-cheese-and-sausage-breakfast-sliders/feed/ 0
Blueberry Oatmeal Breakfast Cookies /blueberry-oatmeal-breakfast-cookies/ /blueberry-oatmeal-breakfast-cookies/#comments Fri, 12 Apr 2013 16:50:26 +0000 admin /?p=118 Ingredients
5 cups old fashioned oats (2½ for flour, rest stays whole)
1 tsp. baking powder
½ tsp. Kosher salt
½ tsp. cinnamon
2 large eggs
1 tsp vanilla
¾ cup turbinado (raw cane) sugar *
⅓ cup coconut oil *
⅓ cup maple syrup *
¼ cup almond milk *
½ cup dried blueberries*
*optional ¼ cup slivered almonds

Preparation method

]]>
/blueberry-oatmeal-breakfast-cookies/feed/ 0
Ham and EggBreakfast Quesadillas /ham-and-eggbreakfast-quesadillas/ /ham-and-eggbreakfast-quesadillas/#comments Fri, 12 Apr 2013 16:44:31 +0000 admin /?p=113 Ingredients
cheddar cheese
cooked ham
eggs
jalapeño chiles
Monterey Jack cheese
salsa
tortillas
green onions

Preparation method

]]>
/ham-and-eggbreakfast-quesadillas/feed/ 0