be foodie » Category » others http://befoodie.net food, kitchens, table settings... Wed, 07 Aug 2013 18:52:17 +0000 en-US hourly 1 http://wordpress.org/?v=3.5.1 Black Bean Avocado Enchiladas /black-bean-avocado-enchiladas/ /black-bean-avocado-enchiladas/#comments Mon, 22 Jul 2013 16:06:36 +0000 admin /?p=3016
Ingredients
1 (15 oz.) can black beans
1 medium avocado
1 small tomato
1/2 cup diced onion
½ cup fresh or frozen corn kernels handful cilantro
1 clove garlic, minced
1/4 tsp salt lime
8 small tortillas (fajita size)
2 cups enchilada sauce
Preparation method

]]>
/black-bean-avocado-enchiladas/feed/ 0
Southwestern Pizza /southwestern-pizza/ /southwestern-pizza/#comments Tue, 16 Jul 2013 19:43:28 +0000 admin /?p=2935
Ingredients
4 (9-inch) flour tortillas
1 can (15 ounces) whole corn kernel, drained
1 can (15 ounces) black beans
1 large tomato, chopped
1/2 small onion, peeled and finely chopped
1 jalapeno, seeded and finely chopped
1 cup cheddar jack cheese, shredded
1 large avocado, pitted and sliced
2 tablespoon green onions, chopped
2 tablespoons oil
1 clove garlic, peeled and minced
For the Creamy Enchilada Sauce
1/2 cup enchilada sauce
1/4 cup sour cream
Preparation method

]]>
/southwestern-pizza/feed/ 0
4-ingredient Banana Bites /4-ingredient-banana-bites/ /4-ingredient-banana-bites/#comments Sun, 14 Jul 2013 19:05:31 +0000 admin /?p=2888
Ingredients
2 Large Banana
1/3 cup Sugar Free, Vegan Chocolate
1/3 cup Natural Creamy Peanut Butter
Crushed Raw Nuts, optional

]]>
/4-ingredient-banana-bites/feed/ 0
Garlic Cheddar Biscuits /garlic-cheddar-biscuits/ /garlic-cheddar-biscuits/#comments Thu, 06 Jun 2013 19:46:41 +0000 admin /?p=2268 Ingredients
2 cups buttermilk biscuit mix (such as Bisquick or Jiffy)
1 cup grated cheddar cheese
1/2 tsp. garlic powder
2/3 cup milk
2 Tbsp. butter, melted
2 tsp. dried oregano
1/4 tsp. garlic salt
Preparation method

]]>
/garlic-cheddar-biscuits/feed/ 0
Crispy Skillet Rosemary Potatoes /crispy-skillet-rosemary-potatoes/ /crispy-skillet-rosemary-potatoes/#comments Tue, 04 Jun 2013 19:17:51 +0000 admin /?p=2240 Ingredients
2 to 3 Tbsp. olive oil
1 sprig fresh rosemary
3/4 tsp. coarse sea salt or kosher salt
8 to 10 small red potatoes or other waxy potatoes
Preparation method

]]>
/crispy-skillet-rosemary-potatoes/feed/ 0
Baked Gingerbread Mini Donuts /baked-gingerbread-mini-donuts/ /baked-gingerbread-mini-donuts/#comments Thu, 30 May 2013 10:53:53 +0000 admin /?p=2149 Ingredients
1 cup flour (I used white whole wheat)
¾ teaspoon baking powder
¼ teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon cinnamon
½ teaspoon ginger
pinch of allspice
pinch of cloves
¼ teaspoon salt
½ cup brown sugar, divided
1 egg
¼ cup applesauce
2 tablespoons maple syrup
3 tablespoons milk, divided
4 tablespoons butter, divided
½ cup powdered sugar
Preparation method

]]>
/baked-gingerbread-mini-donuts/feed/ 0
Oven Hot Dogs /oven-hot-dogs/ /oven-hot-dogs/#comments Tue, 28 May 2013 12:09:45 +0000 admin /?p=2099
Ingredients
8 hot dogs
8 hot dog buns
1 can of chili
1/2 an onion, diced
cheddar cheese
mayonnaise
mustard
sweet relish

Preparation method

]]>
/oven-hot-dogs/feed/ 0
Copycat Pizza Factory Breadsticks /copycat-pizza-factory-breadsticks/ /copycat-pizza-factory-breadsticks/#comments Sun, 19 May 2013 10:48:37 +0000 admin /?p=1407 Ingredients
1 Tbsp. yeast
2 Tbsp. sugar
1 1/2 c. warm water
1 Tbsp. oil
1 tsp salt
3 1/2 c. flour
3/4 c. melted butter, divided
3/8 tsp. garlic salt
1/2 tsp. dried rosemary
1 Tbsp Parmesan cheese

Preparation method

]]>
/copycat-pizza-factory-breadsticks/feed/ 0
Obama Sushi /obama-sushi/ /obama-sushi/#comments Fri, 17 May 2013 19:39:55 +0000 admin /?p=1386
Elect your president and eat him too! :)

]]>
/obama-sushi/feed/ 0
Chocolate-Covered Banana Popsicles /chocolate-covered-banana-popsicles/ /chocolate-covered-banana-popsicles/#comments Tue, 14 May 2013 19:12:52 +0000 admin /?p=1165 Ingredients
3 to 4 bananas, peeled and halved
1/2 cup melted dark chocolate chips
2 tablespoons peanut butter (I always use Adam’s since it only contains peanuts!)
Chopped almonds or other nuts (Optional)
Popsicles sticks

Preparation method

]]>
/chocolate-covered-banana-popsicles/feed/ 0
Bacon-Jalapeño Cheese Ball /bacon-jalapeno-cheese-ball/ /bacon-jalapeno-cheese-ball/#comments Thu, 09 May 2013 13:08:22 +0000 admin /?p=1099 Ingredients
6 slices bacon
1/4 cup chopped pecans
8 oz cream cheese, at room temperature
1/2 cup shredded cheddar cheese
2 tablespoons chopped fresh parsley
1 garlic clove, minced
1/4 teaspoon ground cumin
pinch cayenne pepper
1 teaspoon lime juice
1/2 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce
2 jalapeños (ribs and seeds removed), finely chopped and divided
crackers (for serving)

Preparation method

]]>
/bacon-jalapeno-cheese-ball/feed/ 0
Potato Rings /potato-rings/ /potato-rings/#comments Tue, 07 May 2013 09:45:57 +0000 admin /?p=1022 Ingredients
3 large russet potatoes, cleaned peeled and chopped into large pieces
1/3 cup plus 2 tablespoons heavy cream
¼ cup unsalted butter (½ stick), softened
½ cup caramelized yellow onions, chopped
3 tablespoons chives, thinly sliced
2/3 cup  all purpose flour
1/3 cup rice flour
2 tablespoons garlic powder
1 tablespoon onion powder

Preparation method

]]>
/potato-rings/feed/ 0
Olive Penguins! /olive-penguins/ /olive-penguins/#comments Sun, 05 May 2013 20:32:38 +0000 admin /?p=949 Ingredients

Pitted Black Olives;  Jumbo for the bodies and medium size for the heads.
- 1 or 2 carrots, peeled and sliced as directed below.
- Toothpicks or cocktail picks long enough to skewer through entire penguin (head, body,
and carrot “feet”.
- Cream cheese, room temperature, plain or flavored as desired

Preparation method

]]>
/olive-penguins/feed/ 0
Fried Mozzarella Balls /fried-mozzarella-balls/ /fried-mozzarella-balls/#comments Sat, 04 May 2013 10:58:39 +0000 admin /?p=905 Ingredients
1  8 oz container of mozzarella balls, such as bocconcini
2 large eggs
1/4 cup of milk
1 cup of plain flour
2 cups of breadcrumbs or panko
1 tablespoon of dried oregano
salt and pepper
canola oil for frying

Preparation method

]]>
/fried-mozzarella-balls/feed/ 0
Homemade Potstickers /homemade-potstickers/ /homemade-potstickers/#comments Sat, 04 May 2013 10:39:20 +0000 admin /?p=888 Ingredients
1 cup finely shredded bok choy or napa cabbage (optional)
1/4 tsp. salt
1 lb. lean ground pork
2 green onions, finely chopped
1 Tbsp. soy sauce (or to taste)
1-2 cloves garlic, crushed
1 tsp. grated fresh ginger
1/2 tsp. sugar
1 tsp. sesame oil
1 pkg. wonton or gyoza wrappers, thawed if frozen
canola oil
chicken or veggie stock, or water

Preparation method

]]>
/homemade-potstickers/feed/ 0
Avocado Fries Recipe /865/ /865/#comments Fri, 03 May 2013 18:38:45 +0000 admin /?p=865 Ingredients
¼ cup flour
1 teaspoon salt
2 large eggs (beaten)
1 ¼ cups Panko breadcrumbs
2 firm-ripe avocados (pitted, peeled, and sliced into ½” wedges)
Canola oil (for frying)
Grated parmesan cheese (optional)

Preparation method

]]>
/865/feed/ 0
Cheesy Corn Cakes /cheesy-corn-cakes/ /cheesy-corn-cakes/#comments Fri, 03 May 2013 18:35:41 +0000 admin /?p=862 Ingredients
2 cups corn
1x 400g (14.11 ounces) tin creamed corn
2 eggs
1½ cups grated mature cheddar
½ tsp smoked paprika
1 tsp salt
1½ cups flour
1 tsp baking powder
½ cup milk
2 avocados, chopped
1 small red onion, peeled and finely chopped
1 red chilli, finely chopped (remove seeds if you don’t like it hot)
juice of ½ lemon
salt & pepper to taste
fresh coriander, to serve

Preparation method

]]>
/cheesy-corn-cakes/feed/ 0
Amazing Birthday Cake! /amazing-birthday-cake/ /amazing-birthday-cake/#comments Fri, 03 May 2013 18:26:11 +0000 admin /?p=853
Fantastic Kit Kat and M&M birthday cake

]]>
/amazing-birthday-cake/feed/ 0
Twix Cake /twix-cake/ /twix-cake/#comments Thu, 02 May 2013 08:05:23 +0000 admin /?p=767 Ingredients
90g (about 3/4 cup) plain flour (all-purpose)
1 tsp baking powder
1/8 tsp salt
60ml (1/4 cup) milk
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
60g (1/4 cup) sugar (preferably caster/superfine)
60g (1/2 stick) unsalted butter, softened
1 medium egg

Preparation method

]]>
/twix-cake/feed/ 0
Chocolate Wasted Cake /chocolate-wasted-cake/ /chocolate-wasted-cake/#comments Wed, 01 May 2013 19:47:52 +0000 admin /?p=732 Ingredients
3 cups all-purpose flour 
2 1/2 cups sugar
1 cup cocoa powder
2 tsp. baking soda
1 tsp. salt
2 cups milk
1 cup butter, melted
4 tsp. honey
2 tsp. vanilla extract
1/2 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

Preparation method

]]>
/chocolate-wasted-cake/feed/ 0
Ginger Beer /ginger-beer/ /ginger-beer/#comments Thu, 25 Apr 2013 20:16:08 +0000 admin /?p=664 Ingredients
1 oz fresh ginger juice
2 oz fresh lemon juice
3 oz simple syrup
10 oz warm water
25 granules of cuvee yeast
1 16oz glass bottle with a tight cap/lid

Preparation method

]]>
/ginger-beer/feed/ 0
Potato and Cheese Pierogi /649/ /649/#comments Wed, 24 Apr 2013 19:10:53 +0000 admin /?p=649 Ingredients
1-1/2 lbs baking potatoes, peeled and cut into 1-inch slices
2 tablespoons unsalted butter
1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil
1 small sweet onion, chopped
1 clove garlic, minced
1/4 teaspoon dried thyme
3/4 to 1 cup grated dry farmer’s cheese
Kosher salt and freshly ground pepper to taste

Preparation method

]]>
/649/feed/ 0
Fruity popsicle sticks /fruity-popsicle-sticks/ /fruity-popsicle-sticks/#comments Wed, 24 Apr 2013 18:53:54 +0000 admin /?p=635 Ingredients
1 peach, cut into 1/2-inch slices (1/2 cup)
2 kiwis, peeled and sliced into 1/4-inch rounds
3/4 cup strawberries, finely chopped
1/2 cup blueberries
1/2 cup raspberries
1 1/2 to 2 cups of fruit punch or 100 percent white-grape juice

Preparation method

]]>
/fruity-popsicle-sticks/feed/ 0
Chinese Barbecued Pork /chinese-barbecued-pork/ /chinese-barbecued-pork/#comments Wed, 24 Apr 2013 18:47:43 +0000 admin /?p=628 Ingredients
1 pound whole pork belly, skin removed
2 tablespoons Chinese rice wine or dry sherry
2 tablespoons dark soy sauce, or substitute regular soy sauce
2 tablespoons sugar
2 cloves garlic, minced
½ tablespoon hoisin sauce
½ teaspoon five-spice powder
2 tablespoons honey

Preparation method

]]>
/chinese-barbecued-pork/feed/ 0
Chocolate Breakfast Shake /chocolate-breakfast-shake/ /chocolate-breakfast-shake/#comments Tue, 23 Apr 2013 18:31:02 +0000 admin /?p=625 Ingredients
1/3 10 oz. block firm tofu
1 small banana, sliced
1.5 tbsp. unsweetened cocoa powder
1/4 cup skim milk
1/2 tsp. vanilla
1.5 tbsp. brown sugar
1/2 cup ice

Preparation method

]]>
/chocolate-breakfast-shake/feed/ 0
Island Pork Tenderloin /island-pork-tenderloin/ /island-pork-tenderloin/#comments Sun, 21 Apr 2013 07:53:04 +0000 admin /?p=594 Ingredients
1 (2 1/2 lb) pork tenderloin
1 tsp salt
1/2 tsp chili powder
1/2 tsp ground cumin
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp freshly ground black pepper
1/4 tsp paprika
1 Tbsp olive oil
1/4 cup + 2 Tbsp packed brown sugar (light or dark)
1 Tbsp finely minced garlic
1 1/2 tsp Sriracha or Tabasco sauce

Preparation method

]]>
/island-pork-tenderloin/feed/ 0
Sugar Cookie Bars /sugar-cookie-bars/ /sugar-cookie-bars/#comments Sun, 21 Apr 2013 07:32:10 +0000 admin /?p=579 Ingredients
1 cup unsalted butter, at room temperature
2 cups granulated sugar
4 large eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla
5 cups flour
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon baking soda

Preparation method

]]>
/sugar-cookie-bars/feed/ 0
Spring Pizza /spring-pizza/ /spring-pizza/#comments Fri, 19 Apr 2013 12:51:49 +0000 admin /?p=570 Ingredients
3 3/4 cups (500 grams) bread flour
2 1/2 teaspoons (10 grams) active dry yeast
1 teaspoon (5 grams) salt
1 teaspoon (5 grams) sugar
1 1/3 cup (300 grams) water, room temp’
XV olive oil

Preparation method

]]>
/spring-pizza/feed/ 0
Table Settings /table-settings/ /table-settings/#comments Fri, 19 Apr 2013 11:18:59 +0000 admin /?p=504

]]>
/table-settings/feed/ 0
Grilled Chicken Teriyaki Kebobs /grilled-chicken-teriyaki-kebobs/ /grilled-chicken-teriyaki-kebobs/#comments Tue, 16 Apr 2013 16:24:35 +0000 admin /?p=432 Ingredients
1 1/2 lbs boneless skinless chicken breasts, diced into 1 1/2 inch pieces
2 small green bell peppers (or 1 1/2 large), diced into 1 1/2 inch pieces
2 small red bell peppers (or 1 1/2 large), diced into 1 1/2 inch pieces
1 large yellow onion, diced into 1 1/2 inch wedges
3 heaping cups fresh pineapple, diced into 1 1/2 inch chunks (and about 1/2 – 3/4 inch thick)

Preparation method

]]>
/grilled-chicken-teriyaki-kebobs/feed/ 0
Vegan Sushi /vegan-sushi/ /vegan-sushi/#comments Sun, 14 Apr 2013 10:14:06 +0000 admin /?p=303 Ingredients
1/3 cup cooked Japanese sushi rice (or sticky rice)
1 sheet roasted seaweed
Rice vinegar
Bragg’s soy sauce
Some julienned carrot
A couple strips of cucumber
A little bit of pickled ginger
1-3 small, marinated mushrooms
1 tsp. toasted sesame seeds (you just need a couple sprinkles)

Preparation method

]]>
/vegan-sushi/feed/ 0
Tropical Granola /tropical-granola/ /tropical-granola/#comments Sun, 14 Apr 2013 10:03:28 +0000 admin /?p=297 Ingredients
6 cups rolled oats (gluten free)
¾ cup organic coconut flakes
¾ tsp. sea salt
1 tsp. cinnamon
1/3 cup raw macadamia nuts
1/3 cup honey
1/3 cup agave
2 tsp. pure vanilla
1 ¼ cup unsweetened applesauce
1/3 cup chopped organic, dried papaya
1/3 cup chopped organic, dried figs
1/3 cup chopped, organic mango

Preparation method

]]>
/tropical-granola/feed/ 0