be foodie » Category » pasta & noodles http://befoodie.net food, kitchens, table settings... Wed, 07 Aug 2013 18:52:17 +0000 en-US hourly 1 http://wordpress.org/?v=3.5.1 Zucchini Pasta /zucchini-pasta/ /zucchini-pasta/#comments Fri, 12 Jul 2013 17:24:57 +0000 admin /?p=2841
Ingredients
4 small (or 2 large) zucchini, ends trimmed and spiralized with a julienne peeler or spiralizer
1 avocado
½ a cucumber, chopped
juice of ½ a lemon
1 clove garlic
2 tablespoons almond or coconut milk
about 8 leaves of basil
salt & pepper
halved cherry tomatoes & basil leaves for garnish
Preparation method

]]>
/zucchini-pasta/feed/ 0
Avocado Pasta /avocado-pasta/ /avocado-pasta/#comments Sat, 06 Jul 2013 18:30:41 +0000 admin /?p=2686
Ingredients
200 g whole wheat pasta
2 ripe avocados
2 cloves of garlic
1 lime
basil
6-8 cherry tomatoes
Handful of rocket
Salt and pepper
Preparation method

]]>
/avocado-pasta/feed/ 0
Pasta Pie /pasta-pie/ /pasta-pie/#comments Thu, 09 May 2013 12:35:20 +0000 admin /?p=1077 Ingredients
1 pound Rigatoni
2 Tablespoons Olive oil, divided
1 pound Ground beef (I used ground sirloin)
2 Garlic gloves, crushed
1/4 teaspoon Freshly ground pepper
1 can (28 ounces) Good quality crushed tomatoes ~ Muir Glen
Butter, for pan
Salt
1 cup Parmesan cheese, finely grated
8 ounces Coarsely grated mozzarella cheese

Preparation method

]]>
/pasta-pie/feed/ 0
Ricotta Gnocchi /ricotta-gnocchi/ /ricotta-gnocchi/#comments Sat, 04 May 2013 10:26:09 +0000 admin /?p=877 Ingredients
1 pack (300g) of frozen chopped spinach
500g ricotta cheese
1/3 cup (80g) parmesan
1/3 cup or more (75g) plain flour
2 eggs
pinch of salt, pepper, nutmeg

Preparation method

]]>
/ricotta-gnocchi/feed/ 0
Baked Macaroni and Cheese /baked-macaroni-and-cheese/ /baked-macaroni-and-cheese/#comments Wed, 01 May 2013 19:44:38 +0000 admin /?p=728 Ingredients
1 (8-ounce) package elbow macaroni
2 cups milk (I use whole milk)
1/4 cup all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon onion salt
2 (10-ounce) blocks sharp Cheddar cheese, shredded and divided ( I use one block of Sharp Cheddar and one block of Extra-Sharp Cheddar cheese)
1 cup soft plain breadcrumbs ( The recipe suggest homemade breadcrumbs, but I use store bought – not Italian breadcrumbs, just plain)
1/4 cup butter or margarine, melted (I use butter)

Preparation method

]]>
/baked-macaroni-and-cheese/feed/ 0
Creamy White Chicken Lasagna Roll Ups /creamy-white-chicken-lasagna-roll-ups/ /creamy-white-chicken-lasagna-roll-ups/#comments Sun, 21 Apr 2013 08:25:08 +0000 admin /?p=609 Ingredients
9 lasagna noodles
2 cups boneless, skinless chicken breast, cooked and shredded*
8 oz. shredded Mozzarella cheese, divided (2 cups)
1 oz. finely shredded Parmesan cheese (1/4 cup)
1 oz. finely shredded Romano cheese (1/4 cup)
1/4 cup chopped fresh parsley
2 (8 oz) pkg. cream cheese, softened
1 cup milk
1 1/2 tsp dried basil
1/2 tsp garlic powder
1/2 tsp onion powder
salt and freshly ground black pepper, to taste

Preparation method

]]>
/creamy-white-chicken-lasagna-roll-ups/feed/ 0
Pasta ai Quattro Formaggi /pasta-ai-quattro-formaggi/ /pasta-ai-quattro-formaggi/#comments Thu, 18 Apr 2013 20:51:21 +0000 admin /?p=475 Ingredients

1 pound Angel Hair Pasta
1/2 cup Grated Fontina Cheese
1/2 cup Grated Parmesan Cheese
1/2 cup Grated Romano Cheese
1/2 cup Goat Cheese (chevre)
2 Tablespoons Butter, Softened
1 cup Heavy Cream
1 whole Garlic Clove, Peeled
1/2 teaspoon Salt, More To Taste
Freshly Ground Black Pepper
Minced Fresh Parsley

Preparation method

]]>
/pasta-ai-quattro-formaggi/feed/ 0
Pasta Carbonara /pasta-carbonara/ /pasta-carbonara/#comments Thu, 18 Apr 2013 20:48:51 +0000 admin /?p=471 Ingredients

12 ounces, weight Pasta, Any Variety
8 pieces Thick Cut Bacon (diced Small)
1/2 whole Medium Onion, Diced Small
2 cloves Garlic, Minced
3 whole Eggs
3/4 cups Finely Grated Parmesan
3/4 cups Heavy Cream
Salt & Plenty Of Black Pepper
1/2 cup Peas

Preparation method

]]>
/pasta-carbonara/feed/ 0
Buttery Lemon Parsley Noodles /buttery-lemon-parsley-noodles/ /buttery-lemon-parsley-noodles/#comments Thu, 18 Apr 2013 20:46:32 +0000 admin /?p=468 Ingredients

1 pound Pasta (fettuccine, Linguine, Angel Hair)
4 Tablespoons Butter
1/4 cup Finely Minced Parsley
1 whole Lemon
Salt And Pepper, to taste

Preparation method

]]>
/buttery-lemon-parsley-noodles/feed/ 0
Chicken Alfredo Pizza /chicken-alfredo-pizza/ /chicken-alfredo-pizza/#comments Tue, 16 Apr 2013 16:27:14 +0000 admin /?p=436 Ingredients
1 lb pizza dough, store-bought or homemade
1 1/2 cups cooked or grilled, shredded chicken
2 Tbsp butter
1/4 tsp garlic powder
1/8 tsp onion powder
1 Tbsp flour, plus more for dusting
1/2 cup + 2 Tbsp heavy cream
1/2 cup + 2 Tbsp whole milk
2 oz finely shredded Parmesan cheese (1/2 cup)
Salt and freshly ground black or white pepper, to taste
cornmeal, for dusting
4 oz shredded Mozzarella cheese (1 cup)
6 slices bacon, cooked and chopped
1 Tbsp extra virgin olive oil
1 1/2 Tbsp chopped green onions

Preparation method

]]>
/chicken-alfredo-pizza/feed/ 0
Spaghetti with Bok Choy and Poached Egg /spaghetti-with-bok-choy-and-poached-egg/ /spaghetti-with-bok-choy-and-poached-egg/#comments Tue, 16 Apr 2013 16:04:42 +0000 admin /?p=412 Ingredients
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 bunch bok choy, thinly sliced
1 red bell pepper, thinly sliced
Pinch red pepper flakes
4-5 cloves garlic, minced
1 cup vegetable broth
4 large eggs, poached
1/2 pound whole wheat spaghetti
Green onions, chopped
1/2 cup Parmesan cheese, grated

Preparation method

]]>
/spaghetti-with-bok-choy-and-poached-egg/feed/ 0
Seafood Pasta /seafood-pasta/ /seafood-pasta/#comments Tue, 16 Apr 2013 07:13:02 +0000 admin /?p=368 Ingredients
2 Tablespoons Olive Oil
2 Tablespoons Butter
1 pound Scallops
1 pound Shrimp
5 cloves Garlic
3/4 cups Dry White Wine
28 ounces, weight Whole Or Diced Tomatoes
Salt And Pepper, to taste
1/4 teaspoon Crushed Red Pepper
1/4 cup Heavy Cream, Warmed
12 whole Basil Leaves Torn
Chicken Broth, If Needed For Splashing In A Little Liquid
12 ounces, weight Pasta

Preparation method

]]>
/seafood-pasta/feed/ 0
Italian Beef Stew /italian-beef-stew/ /italian-beef-stew/#comments Tue, 16 Apr 2013 06:26:38 +0000 admin /?p=328 Ingredients
4 medium carrots, chopped into 1/2-inch thick pieces (2 cups)
3 stalks celery, chopped into 1/2-inch thick pieces (1 1/2 cups)
1 large yellow onion, diced
3 cloves garlic, finely minced
5 Tbsp extra virgin olive oil, divided
2 1/2 lbs rump roast, trimmed of fat and cut into 1-inch pieces
1/3 cup all-purpose flour
salt and freshly ground black pepper
4 cups low-sodium beef broth
1 Tbsp red wine vinegar
2 (15 oz) cans diced tomatoes
1 tsp dried oregano
1 tsp dried thyme
3/4 tsp dried rosemary, crushed
1/2 tsp dried marjoram
2 bay leaves
1 1/2 lbs Russet potatoes, peeled and diced into 1-inch pieces
8 oz cremini mushroom, sliced
3 Tbsp chopped fresh basil
2 Tbsp chopped fresh parsley
Parmesan or Romano cheese, for serving (optional)

Preparation method

]]>
/italian-beef-stew/feed/ 0