be foodie » Category » salads http://befoodie.net food, kitchens, table settings... Tue, 06 Aug 2013 15:13:06 +0000 en-US hourly 1 http://wordpress.org/?v=3.5.1 Breakfast Sandwich with Fried Eggs and Smoked Salmon /breakfast-sandwich-with-fried-eggs-and-smoked-salmon/ /breakfast-sandwich-with-fried-eggs-and-smoked-salmon/#comments Sat, 27 Jul 2013 20:28:21 +0000 admin /?p=3103
Ingredients
4 slices bread (gluten free bread for gluten free version)
2-4 tablespoons pesto (vegan pesto for dairy free version)
several slices smoked salmon
1 small cucumber, thinly sliced
2 fried eggs
handful salad mix
½ avocado, thinly sliced (optional)
Preparation method

]]>
/breakfast-sandwich-with-fried-eggs-and-smoked-salmon/feed/ 0
Chunky Mango and Avocado Summer Salsa /chunky-mango-and-avocado-summer-salsa/ /chunky-mango-and-avocado-summer-salsa/#comments Sat, 27 Jul 2013 20:26:22 +0000 admin /?p=3100
Ingredients
3 plum tomatoes, diced
1 green pepper, diced (optional)
large bunch of cilantro (about 1/2 cup minced)
Juice from one lime
2 garlic cloves, minced
1 mango, diced
1 avocado, diced
1/4 – 1/2 tsp salt
Preparation method

]]>
/chunky-mango-and-avocado-summer-salsa/feed/ 0
Chopped Kale Salad /chopped-kale-salad/ /chopped-kale-salad/#comments Fri, 26 Jul 2013 20:03:56 +0000 admin /?p=3091
Ingredients
1 bunch kale (preferably lacinato/Tuscan/dinosaur kale but regular curly kale works, too)
fine-grain sea salt
1 cup chopped snow peas (slice off tough ends first)
1 large carrot, peeled and ribboned with a vegetable peeler
1 small red bell pepper, deseeded and chopped
1 heaping cup organic edamame (if using frozen edamame, defrost by tossing into a pot of boiling water for 3 to 4 minutes)
1 avocado, pitted and sliced into small chunks
1 large shallot, finely sliced
handful cilantro, chopped
handful Thai basil (or regular basil), chopped
Preparation method

]]>
/chopped-kale-salad/feed/ 0
Esquites /esquites/ /esquites/#comments Thu, 25 Jul 2013 21:41:52 +0000 admin /?p=3071
Ingredients
2 Tablespoons butter
4 ears fresh corn, cleaned and cut from the cob
1 jalapeno, seeded and finely diced
2 cloves garlic, minced
2 green onions, chopped
1/2 cup cilantro, chopped
1 lime, juiced
Chili powder to taste
Salt to taste
1/4 cup cotija or feta cheese, crumbled
1/2 avocado, diced
1 cup chocolate chips
Preparation method

]]>
/esquites/feed/ 0
Citrus and Avocado Salad /citrus-and-avocado-salad/ /citrus-and-avocado-salad/#comments Tue, 23 Jul 2013 16:51:15 +0000 admin /?p=3031
Ingredients
Citrus (like grapefruit or oranges) – 2 to 3, segmented
Shallots – 1 tbs., minced
Dijon mustard – ½ tsp.
Red wine vinegar – 2 tbs.
Olive oil – 3 to 4 tbs.
Avocado – 1 to 2 ripe, sliced
Salad greens – ¼ lb.
Sliced almonds – for serving
Preparation method

]]>
/citrus-and-avocado-salad/feed/ 0
blt corn fritter stacks /blt-corn-fritter-stacks/ /blt-corn-fritter-stacks/#comments Tue, 23 Jul 2013 16:44:47 +0000 admin /?p=3028
Ingredients
Chipotle Bourbon Dressing
1/4 cup bourbon (may skip if desired)
1/2 cup olive oil
2 tablespoon apple cider vinegar
2 tablespoons honey
1 chipotle pepper, minced
1 clove garlic, minced or grated
salt + pepper, to taste
Fritters
1 1/4 cups sweet yellow corn, about 2 ears
3/4 cup flour
1/8 cup sugar
1 tablespoon brown suger
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon pepper
1/2 cup milk
1/4 cup canola oil (for cooking)
BLT
8 slices of bacon
2 tablespoons brown sugar
1/4 teaspoon cayenne
7 ounces smoked gouda or gouda cheese, sliced
1 cup grape tomatoes, halved
3 cups arugula
1 avocado, mashed
Preparation method

]]>
/blt-corn-fritter-stacks/feed/ 0
Buffalo Chicken Salad with Avocado Ranch Dressing /buffalo-chicken-salad-with-avocado-ranch-dressing/ /buffalo-chicken-salad-with-avocado-ranch-dressing/#comments Sat, 20 Jul 2013 17:38:09 +0000 admin /?p=2964
Ingredients
Buffalo Chicken:
4 boneless, skinless chicken breast
Chili Powder
Paprika
Olive oil
½ cup Buffalo Sauce (room temperature)
2 Tablespoons melted Butter
8 cups chopped Romaine Lettuce
½ cup gorgonzola crumbles
1 cup sliced grape tomatoes
1 avocado cut into wedges
Avocado Ranch Dressing:
1 avocado, peeled and pit removed
¼ cup greek yogurt
¾ /cup plain yogurt
¼ cup buttermilk
1 T distilled white vinegar
1 T lemon juice
¼ teaspoon cracked, black pepper
¼ tsp salt
½ tsp sugar
½ teaspoon chopped fresh parsley
¼ teaspoon onion powder
1 garlic clove, minced
½ T chopped fresh chives

Preparation method

]]>
/buffalo-chicken-salad-with-avocado-ranch-dressing/feed/ 0
Cucumber Avocado Salad with Tuna, Cilantro, and Lime /cucumber-avocado-salad-with-tuna-cilantro-and-lime/ /cucumber-avocado-salad-with-tuna-cilantro-and-lime/#comments Tue, 16 Jul 2013 19:46:40 +0000 admin /?p=2938
Ingredients
1 avocado
1 T fresh-squeezed lime juice
1 large European cucumber (or 2 smaller cucumbers)
1/2 cup chopped cilantro (more or less to taste)
1/4 cup thinly sliced green onion
1 can (5 oz.) tuna packed in olive oil
salt and fresh-ground black pepper to taste
Preparation method

]]>
/cucumber-avocado-salad-with-tuna-cilantro-and-lime/feed/ 0
Broccoli Raisin Sunflower Seed Salad /broccoli-raisin-sunflower-seed-salad/ /broccoli-raisin-sunflower-seed-salad/#comments Mon, 15 Jul 2013 16:45:49 +0000 admin /?p=2918
Ingredients
6 C Chopped Broccoli
1/2 Red Onion, medium, chopped
1 C Raisins
1 C Sunflower Seeds
Dressing

]]>
/broccoli-raisin-sunflower-seed-salad/feed/ 0
Asian Avocado Snap Pea Salad /asian-avocado-snap-pea-salad/ /asian-avocado-snap-pea-salad/#comments Sun, 14 Jul 2013 19:13:04 +0000 admin /?p=2894
Ingredients
1 small, ripe avocado
large handful sugar snap peas (about 15 peas)
large handful grape tomatoes (about 10 tomatoes)
1 tbsp soy sauce
1 tsp sweet chili sauce
1/2 tsp white vinegar
1/2 tsp orange champagne vinegar or orange juice

]]>
/asian-avocado-snap-pea-salad/feed/ 0
Barley & Feta Salad with Avocado /barley-feta-salad-with-avocado/ /barley-feta-salad-with-avocado/#comments Sun, 14 Jul 2013 19:09:05 +0000 admin /?p=2891
Ingredients
1 cup pearl barley, soaked over night
1 avocado, cubed
80 g feta, roughly crumbled
2 spring onions, finely sliced
1/2 cup frozen peas, defrosted
1 tbsp chia seeds (optional)
1 tbsp coriander (fresh or frozen), finely chopped
a splash of macadamia oil (or any other oil at hand)
1 small lemon, juice and zest
salt
black pepper

]]>
/barley-feta-salad-with-avocado/feed/ 0
Cucumber, Avocado, and Fennel Salsa /cucumber-avocado-and-fennel-salsa/ /cucumber-avocado-and-fennel-salsa/#comments Thu, 11 Jul 2013 19:34:47 +0000 admin /?p=2809 Fennel Salsa
Ingredients
1 fennel bulb, fine dice
1 cucumber, diced
1/2 red onion, diced
1 bunch cilantro, chopped
2 avocados, diced
2 limes, juiced
2 tablespoons sugar (or sugar substitute like stevia or honey)
1/2 tsp salt
Preparation method

]]>
/cucumber-avocado-and-fennel-salsa/feed/ 0
Tuna Quinoa Salad /tuna-quinoa-salad/ /tuna-quinoa-salad/#comments Tue, 09 Jul 2013 17:02:29 +0000 admin /?p=2776
Ingredients
1 cup cooked quinoa
2 celery stalks minced
1 small red onion minced
1 apple minced (I use a Golden Delicious)
1 avocado minced
2 hard boiled eggs minced
1 can of drained Tonno tuna
Preparation method

]]>
/tuna-quinoa-salad/feed/ 0
Kale Salad /kale-salad/ /kale-salad/#comments Mon, 08 Jul 2013 18:34:44 +0000 admin /?p=2751
Ingredients
1 Bunch curly kale (stemmed and torn into manageable bits)
Juice of 1 lemon
1-2 Tblsps Toasted sesame oil
1 Avocado (cubed)
Salt to taste
Toasted sesame seeds
Preparation method

]]>
/kale-salad/feed/ 0
Healthy Broccoli Salad /healthy-broccoli-salad/ /healthy-broccoli-salad/#comments Sun, 07 Jul 2013 16:02:30 +0000 admin /?p=2703
Ingredients
1 pound broccoli (2 small heads)
½ pound carrots, peeled
1 pound red grapes, quartered
½ cup pumpkin seeds, toasted
Dressing:
2 avocados
¼ cup fresh lemon juice
2 Teaspoons sea salt
Preparation method

]]>
/healthy-broccoli-salad/feed/ 0
Avocado Chickpea Salad /avocado-chickpea-salad/ /avocado-chickpea-salad/#comments Sun, 07 Jul 2013 15:56:10 +0000 admin /?p=2700
Ingredients
1 can chickpeas, rinses and drained
1 avocado, cubed
lemon juice
salt, pepper,
2 scallions, chopped
2 handfuls spring mix or arugula, sliced
4 tablespoons vegan basil arugula pesto
Preparation method

]]>
/avocado-chickpea-salad/feed/ 0
Black Bean and Walnut Burgers with Avocado and Mango Salsa /black-bean-and-walnut-burgers-with-avocado-and-mango-salsa/ /black-bean-and-walnut-burgers-with-avocado-and-mango-salsa/#comments Thu, 04 Jul 2013 17:43:26 +0000 admin /?p=2651
Ingredients
1 cup raw black beans, soaked over night
1 tsp ground cumin
1 tsp ground coriander
ground black pepper
1/2 cup cooked brown rice
1/2 cup walnuts, chopped
2 small shallots, chopped
1 corn cob, cooked and kernels removed
pinch of sea salt
1/2 lemon, juiced
1 avocado, diced
1 mango, diced
1 shallot, finely chopped
1/2 red chilli, finely chopped
1/2 cucumber, seeded and chopped
1/4 lemon, juiced
tiny pinch sea salt
Preparation method

]]>
/black-bean-and-walnut-burgers-with-avocado-and-mango-salsa/feed/ 0
Avocado Watercress Salad /avocado-watercress-salad/ /avocado-watercress-salad/#comments Thu, 04 Jul 2013 17:39:33 +0000 admin /?p=2647
Ingredients
1/2 avocado, diced
1/2 small zucchini, diced
1 kiwifruit, skinned and diced
5-6 small leaves of fresh basil, finely minced
3-4 small leaves of cilantro, finely minced (you can omit this if you are a cilantrophobe)
pinch of salt
juice from 1/2 a Mayer lemon
handful of watercress for each salad
assorted greens for garnish (optional)
1 small starfruit for garnish (optional)
extra virgin olive oil
vinegar (your choice: I enjoy using balsamic, white balsamic, rice or coconut vinegars)
Preparation method

]]>
/avocado-watercress-salad/feed/ 0
Avocado, Mango & Orange Salad /avocado-mango-orange-salad/ /avocado-mango-orange-salad/#comments Thu, 04 Jul 2013 17:20:27 +0000 admin /?p=2644
Ingredients
1 ripe mango, diced (I recommend using a champagne/Ataulfo mango)
1/2 cup chopped grape or cherry tomatoes
1 ripe avocado, diced
1/2 a jalapeno, minced
1/4 cup chopped cilantro
1 medium orange (I used a navel orange)
1.5 tbsp fresh lime juice
1/2 tbsp olive oil
Salt and white pepper
1/4 cup chopped roasted cashews
Preparation method

]]>
/avocado-mango-orange-salad/feed/ 0
Creamy Potato Salad /creamy-potato-salad-2/ /creamy-potato-salad-2/#comments Tue, 02 Jul 2013 18:45:46 +0000 admin /?p=2614
Ingredients
1 1/2 Lbs New Potatoes, scrubbed
1 Large Ripe Avocado
Juice of 1/2 Lemon
1/4 teaspoon Kosher Salt, or to taste
Freshly Ground Black Pepper
2 Tablespoons Mixed Chopped Herbs, Try dill&chives, cilantro&scapes or parsley&tarragon – or mix and match them all together.
Preparation method

]]>
/creamy-potato-salad-2/feed/ 0
BBQ Chicken Salad with Avocado Dressing /bbq-chicken-salad-with-avocado-dressing/ /bbq-chicken-salad-with-avocado-dressing/#comments Mon, 01 Jul 2013 16:45:51 +0000 admin /?p=2589
Ingredients
2 – 4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
BBQ sauce (homemade or your favorite store-bought variety)
Canola or vegetable oil
Kosher Salt
Freshly ground black pepper
1 large head of lettuce (any variety will do), rinsed, dried, and torn into bite-sized pieces
Spicy Southwest Corn
1 (15 ounce) can black beans, rinsed and drained
2 ripe avocados, diced
1 pint cherry or grape tomatoes, halved
Preparation method

]]>
/bbq-chicken-salad-with-avocado-dressing/feed/ 0
Cilantro Avocado Chickpea Salad Tacos /cilantro-avocado-chickpea-salad-tacos/ /cilantro-avocado-chickpea-salad-tacos/#comments Sun, 30 Jun 2013 11:43:48 +0000 admin /?p=2549
Ingredients
1 can of chickpeas, rinsed and drained
1 large avocado, mashed
½ cup grated carrot
¼ cup fresh cilantro, roughly chopped
1 green onion, finely chopped
1 clove garlic, finely minced
½ T lime juice
2 T Bragg Liquid Aminos (or tamari/soy sauce)
½ tsp olive oil
dash of cayenne pepper (optional)
salt and pepper to taste
6 corn tortillas
Preparation method

]]>
/cilantro-avocado-chickpea-salad-tacos/feed/ 0
Anti-Aging Avocado Berry Salad with Mango Vinaigrette /anti-aging-avocado-berry-salad-with-mango-vinaigrette/ /anti-aging-avocado-berry-salad-with-mango-vinaigrette/#comments Mon, 17 Jun 2013 18:13:06 +0000 admin /?p=2361
Ingredients
¼ cup pine nuts
10 ounces baby spinach
8 ounces blackberries
8 ounces raspberries
2 small avocados, halved, peeled, pitted, and thinly sliced
Mango Vinaigrette
½ cup frozen chopped mango, thawed
1½ tablespoons honey
2½ tablespoons canola oil
2 teaspoons white wine vinegar
1 tablespoon water
Preparation method

]]>
/anti-aging-avocado-berry-salad-with-mango-vinaigrette/feed/ 0
Hasselback Potatoes /hasselback-potatoes/ /hasselback-potatoes/#comments Wed, 01 May 2013 19:35:28 +0000 admin /?p=718 Ingredients
6 Medium Size Potatoes
2 – 3 Cloves Garlic, thinly sliced
2 Tbsp Olive Oil
30 g Butter
Maldon Sea Salt
Freshly Ground Black Pepper

 

Preparation method

]]>
/hasselback-potatoes/feed/ 0
Heirloom Tomato and Burrata Salad /heirloom-tomato-and-burrata-salad/ /heirloom-tomato-and-burrata-salad/#comments Sun, 21 Apr 2013 07:43:42 +0000 admin /?p=590 Ingredients
2-3 pounds heirloom tomatoes, sliced and chopped to your liking (I did a mixture of both)
2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
1 tablespoon balsamic vinegar
1 teaspoon dried oregano (use fresh if you have it on hand….to taste)
1 teaspoon sea salt
Fresh spinach, a few handfuls
8 ounces fresh Burrata cheese, sliced and torn (as best as you can) into several bite-size pieces
Fresh basil

Preparation method

]]>
/heirloom-tomato-and-burrata-salad/feed/ 0
Taco Salad and Cilantro Lime Ranch /taco-salad-and-cilantro-lime-ranch/ /taco-salad-and-cilantro-lime-ranch/#comments Tue, 16 Apr 2013 16:16:22 +0000 admin /?p=422 Ingredients
2 large boneless skinless chicken breast halves
1 1/2 cups fresh salsa (here is the recipe I use)
1 1/2 Tbsp taco seasoning mix (store bought or homemade, this recipe is great)
1 (15 oz) can black beans, drained and rinsed
1 (15 oz) can pinto beans, drained and rinsed
1 cup frozen corn kernels
1 head green leaf or iceberg lettuce, cut or torn into bite size pieces
1 1/2 cups shredded Monterrey Jack cheese or Cheddar cheese (I use a blend of both)
3 Roma tomatoes, diced
2 avocados, diced (optional)
Sour cream, for serving (optional)
1 recipe cilantro lime ranch, recipe follows
6 taco salad bowls or fried flour tortilla chips

Preparation method

]]>
/taco-salad-and-cilantro-lime-ranch/feed/ 0
Hawaiian Chicken Salad Sandwiches /hawaiian-chicken-salad-sandwiches/ /hawaiian-chicken-salad-sandwiches/#comments Tue, 16 Apr 2013 10:54:16 +0000 admin /?p=390 Ingredients
1 1/2 lbs cooked chicken breast, chilled and shredded
8 oz cooked ham, chilled and diced
1 1/2 cups diced fresh pineapple (canned would work too, but drain well)
1 cup diced celery (about 3 stalks)
2/3 cup chopped Macadamia nuts or Cashews
2 Tbsp chopped green onions

Preparation method

]]>
/hawaiian-chicken-salad-sandwiches/feed/ 0
Exotic Fruit Salad /exotic-fruit-salad/ /exotic-fruit-salad/#comments Sun, 14 Apr 2013 09:54:17 +0000 admin /?p=286 Ingredients
Banana
Avocado
Grapes, frozen
Wild blueberries
Grapefruit, sectioned
Kiwi
Apple
Lime juice
Pineapple juice

Preparation method

]]>
/exotic-fruit-salad/feed/ 0
Everyday Quinoa Salad /everyday-quinoa-salad/ /everyday-quinoa-salad/#comments Sun, 14 Apr 2013 09:50:37 +0000 admin /?p=282 Spring-Salad-02-436x600Ingredients
1-1/2 cups organic uncooked quinoa
3 cups water
2 tbsp. bouillon
2 tbsp. extra virgin olive oil
3 tbsp. Braggs soya sauce
3 tbsp. seasoned rice vinegar
1 organic green pepper, diced
3 organic tomatoes, diced
2 organic cucumbers, diced
2 stalks celery, diced
2 cloves garlic, minced
5 organic green onions, diced
1 cup mung bean sprouts (opt)
1 cup chopped chicken (opt)

Preparation method

]]>
/everyday-quinoa-salad/feed/ 0
Spring Salad /spring-salad/ /spring-salad/#comments Sun, 14 Apr 2013 09:39:26 +0000 admin /?p=275 Ingredients

2 eggs, hard boiled, then cut in rounds
2 tbsp. pumpkin seeds, toasted
1-2 Romaine heart*
½ green pepper
1 small carrot, julienned
¼ cup dried cranberries
3 tbsp. rice vinegar
3 tbsp. Braggs soy sauce
Olive oil (in mister)
Cracked pepper

Preparation method

]]>
/spring-salad/feed/ 0