be foodie » Category » sauces & spreads http://befoodie.net food, kitchens, table settings... Tue, 06 Aug 2013 15:13:06 +0000 en-US hourly 1 http://wordpress.org/?v=3.5.1 Party Guacamole /party-guacamole/ /party-guacamole/#comments Tue, 02 Jul 2013 18:51:41 +0000 admin /?p=2617
Ingredients
3 large avocados
1/3 cup lemon juice
1/2 cup fresh cilantro, finely chopped
1 small tomato, diced
1 jalapeno, diced (remove seeds)
1 tsp garlic powder or granules
1/2-1 tsp chipotle pepper powder
1/4 tsp salt (or to taste)
a few grinds of fresh black pepper
Preparation method

]]>
/party-guacamole/feed/ 0
Jalapeño Popper Dip /jalapeno-popper-dip/ /jalapeno-popper-dip/#comments Tue, 28 May 2013 14:52:22 +0000 admin /?p=2102 Ingredients
2- 8 ounce packages cream cheese, room temp
1 cup mayonnaise
1 cup shredded Mexican blend cheese
1/2 cup Parmesan cheese
1- 4 ounce can chopped green chilies
1- 4 ounce can sliced jalapeños- double if you like heat
1 cup panko bread crumbs
1/2 cup Parmesan cheese
1/2 stick butter, melted

Preparation method

]]>
/jalapeno-popper-dip/feed/ 3
Grilled Cabbage Wedges /grilled-cabbage-wedges/ /grilled-cabbage-wedges/#comments Sun, 12 May 2013 18:58:01 +0000 admin /?p=1148 Ingredients
1/4 cup fresh lime juice
1/4 cup extra-virgin olive oil
1 teaspoon fish sauce
2 garlic cloves
1/4 cup cilantro leaves
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon cayenne
1/2 teaspoon sugar
1 head of cabbage (I used half of head of green and half a head of purple)
Canola oil

Preparation method

]]>
/grilled-cabbage-wedges/feed/ 0
Bacon-Jalapeño Cheese Ball /bacon-jalapeno-cheese-ball/ /bacon-jalapeno-cheese-ball/#comments Thu, 09 May 2013 13:08:22 +0000 admin /?p=1099 Ingredients
6 slices bacon
1/4 cup chopped pecans
8 oz cream cheese, at room temperature
1/2 cup shredded cheddar cheese
2 tablespoons chopped fresh parsley
1 garlic clove, minced
1/4 teaspoon ground cumin
pinch cayenne pepper
1 teaspoon lime juice
1/2 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce
2 jalapeños (ribs and seeds removed), finely chopped and divided
crackers (for serving)

Preparation method

]]>
/bacon-jalapeno-cheese-ball/feed/ 0
Guacamole /guacamole/ /guacamole/#comments Sat, 04 May 2013 10:42:34 +0000 admin /?p=891 Ingredients
2 ripe Avocados, peeled and pitted
juice of 1 Lime
1/4 Cup minced Red Onion
2 Tablespoons minced Cilantro
1 small clove Garlic, minced
1 teaspoon Kosher Salt or 1/2 teaspoon Table Salt
1/2 teaspoon Pepper
1 Tablespoon minced Jalapeño

Preparation method

]]>
/guacamole/feed/ 0
Basic Tomato Sauce /464/ /464/#comments Thu, 18 Apr 2013 20:42:29 +0000 admin /?p=464 Ingredients

1/4 cup extra-virgin olive oil
1/2 large Vidalia onion, finely diced
1 carrot, peeled and finely diced
1 celery stalk, finely diced
3 cloves garlic, sliced thinly
4 fresh tomatoes
One 28-ounce can of chopped tomatoes, with juice
1 bay leaf
2 or 3 sprigs of fresh thyme
Salt and pepper, to taste
Fresh basil, optional

Preparation method

]]>
/464/feed/ 0
California Eggs Benedict /california-eggs-benedict/ /california-eggs-benedict/#comments Thu, 18 Apr 2013 20:40:21 +0000 admin /?p=461 Ingredients

12 tablespoons unsalted butter, room temperature
6 large egg yolks
1/2 cup boiling water
2 teaspoons fresh lemon juice
Pinch black pepper
1/4 teaspoon garlic salt
1/4 teaspoon sea salt
1 teaspoon sriracha sauce, or to taste

Preparation method

]]>
/california-eggs-benedict/feed/ 0
Grapefruit and Avocado Guacamole /grapefruit-and-avocado-guacamole/ /grapefruit-and-avocado-guacamole/#comments Thu, 18 Apr 2013 20:38:02 +0000 admin /?p=458 Ingredients

2 ripe avocados
1 medium pink grapefruit, halved, sectioned, and juices reserved
1/2 medium yellow onion, chopped
1/2 tablespoon garlic, minced
2 tablespoons cilantro, chopped
Sea salt, to taste

Preparation method

]]>
/grapefruit-and-avocado-guacamole/feed/ 0
Pretzel Rolls with Beer Cheese Sauce /pretzel-rolls-with-beer-cheese-sauce/ /pretzel-rolls-with-beer-cheese-sauce/#comments Thu, 18 Apr 2013 20:34:54 +0000 admin /?p=455 Ingredients

4 tablespoons unsalted butter
1/2 cup yellow onion, chopped
1 bay leaf
4 tablespoons flour
2 cups beer (I used an IPA.  Use whatever kind you have on hand.)
1 cup heavy cream
1/2 teaspoon whole black peppercorns
1/4 teaspoon ground cloves
Pinch nutmeg
2-3 cups cheddar cheese, grated
Salt and pepper, to taste

Preparation method

]]>
/pretzel-rolls-with-beer-cheese-sauce/feed/ 0
Eggplant Focaccia and The Village Press Dipping Sauce /eggplant-focaccia-and-the-village-press-dipping-sauce/ /eggplant-focaccia-and-the-village-press-dipping-sauce/#comments Thu, 18 Apr 2013 20:32:01 +0000 admin /?p=452 Ingredients

1 medium eggplant, sliced into 1/4-inch slices
1 and 1/2 teaspoons salt
1 pound pizza dough
2 tablespoons cornmeal
6 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
1 cup Emmentaler (or swiss or Gruyere) cheese, shredded
Fresh oregano, for garnish

Preparation method

]]>
/eggplant-focaccia-and-the-village-press-dipping-sauce/feed/ 0
Butterscotch Sauce /butterscotch-sauce/ /butterscotch-sauce/#comments Thu, 18 Apr 2013 20:28:17 +0000 admin /?p=448 Ingredients
4 tablespoons unsalted butter
1/2 cup light brown sugar
1/2 cup heavy cream
1/2 teaspoon (or so, to taste) flaky sea salt
1 and 1/2 teaspoons vanilla (you can add more, to taste)

Preparation method

]]>
/butterscotch-sauce/feed/ 0