be foodie » Category » vegetables http://befoodie.net food, kitchens, table settings... Wed, 07 Aug 2013 18:52:17 +0000 en-US hourly 1 http://wordpress.org/?v=3.5.1 Baked Mushrooms Stuffed With Ricotta /baked-mushrooms-stuffed-with-ricotta-ingredients/ /baked-mushrooms-stuffed-with-ricotta-ingredients/#comments Wed, 07 Aug 2013 18:39:23 +0000 admin /?p=3129
Ingredients
100 -150 grams of ricotta cheese
lemon
dry or powdered chilli
sea ​​salt
freshly ground black pepper
2 tablespoons oregano
a handful of grated parmesan
mushrooms (10 large or 15 small)
1 tomato
Preparation method

]]>
/baked-mushrooms-stuffed-with-ricotta-ingredients/feed/ 0
Creamy Potato Salad /creamy-potato-salad/ /creamy-potato-salad/#comments Tue, 18 Jun 2013 20:04:07 +0000 admin /?p=2388
Ingredients
1 1/2 Lbs New Potatoes, scrubbed
1 Large Ripe Avocado
Juice of 1/2 Lemon
1/4 teaspoon Kosher Salt, or to taste
Freshly Ground Black Pepper
2 Tablespoons Mixed Chopped Herbs
Preparation method

]]>
/creamy-potato-salad/feed/ 0
Avocado Baked With an Egg /avocado-baked-with-an-egg/ /avocado-baked-with-an-egg/#comments Sun, 02 Jun 2013 12:30:57 +0000 admin /?p=2194 Ingredients
1 avocado
cuckooflower
sausage
2 eggs
salt and pepper
2 slices of bread fried on 1 tbsp of oil with herbs
Preparation method

]]>
/avocado-baked-with-an-egg/feed/ 0
Corn and Tomato Stuffed Avocados /corn-and-tomato-stuffed-avocados/ /corn-and-tomato-stuffed-avocados/#comments Wed, 29 May 2013 17:19:33 +0000 admin /?p=2125 Ingredients
1 tomato, chopped
1/2 cup corn kernels
1/4 cup feta cheese crumbles
1/4 cup fresh cilantro, chopped
1 tablespoon lime juice
Salt and pepper, to taste
Preparation method

]]>
/corn-and-tomato-stuffed-avocados/feed/ 2
Bacon Guacamole Grilled Cheese Sandwich /bacon-guacamole-grilled-cheese-sandwich/ /bacon-guacamole-grilled-cheese-sandwich/#comments Fri, 24 May 2013 19:04:39 +0000 admin /?p=1561
Ingredients
2 slices bacon
2 slices sour dough bread
1 tablespoon butter, room temperature
1/2 cup jack and cheddar cheese, shredded
2 tablespoons guacamole, room temperature
1 tablespoon tortilla chips, crumbled (optional)

Preparation method

]]>
/bacon-guacamole-grilled-cheese-sandwich/feed/ 0
Baked Asparagus Fries /baked-asparagus-fries/ /baked-asparagus-fries/#comments Fri, 24 May 2013 14:07:59 +0000 admin /?p=1558 Asparagus-Fries-24456-1
Ingredients
1 bunch of fresh organic asparagus, cleaned and ends snapped off
1/2 cup spelt flour
1/4 cup panko
1/2 cup parmesan cheese
1/2 cup multi-grain bread crumbs
1 teaspoon ground garlic
2 eggs
salt and pepper to taste
1 teaspoon olive oil

Preparation method

]]>
/baked-asparagus-fries/feed/ 0
Stuffed Peppers /stuffed-peppers/ /stuffed-peppers/#comments Tue, 21 May 2013 17:22:18 +0000 admin /?p=1503 Ingredients 6 large bell peppers, any color 2 pounds ground beef 1 cup chopped onions 1 1/2 teaspoons salt 1/2 teaspoon pepper 28 ounce can crushed tomatoes 1 teaspoon dried basil 1/2 teaspoon dried oregano 3 tablespoons A-1 steak sauce 1 cup water 1 cup long grain white rice 6 ounces shredded cheddar cheese, divided [...]]]>
strong>Ingredients
6 large bell peppers, any color
2 pounds ground beef 1 cup chopped onions
1 1/2 teaspoons salt
1/2 teaspoon pepper
28 ounce can crushed tomatoes
1 teaspoon dried basil
1/2 teaspoon dried oregano
3 tablespoons A-1 steak sauce
1 cup water
1 cup long grain white rice
6 ounces shredded cheddar cheese, divided
Preparation method

]]>
/stuffed-peppers/feed/ 0
Strawberry BBQ Chicken Spinach and Quinoa Salad /strawberry-bbq-chicken-spinach-and-quinoa-salad/ /strawberry-bbq-chicken-spinach-and-quinoa-salad/#comments Mon, 20 May 2013 19:24:12 +0000 admin /?p=1473
Ingredients

1 cup quinoa, well rinsed
1 1/2 cups water
2 cups baby spinach
1 cup cooked chicken, shredded or diced
1 cup strawberries
1 cup avocado
1/4 cup goat cheese, crumbled
4 strips bacon, cooked and crumbled
1/4 cup roasted strawberry BBQ sauce
2 green onions
cilantro to taste

Preparation method

]]>
/strawberry-bbq-chicken-spinach-and-quinoa-salad/feed/ 0
Obama Sushi /obama-sushi/ /obama-sushi/#comments Fri, 17 May 2013 19:39:55 +0000 admin /?p=1386
Elect your president and eat him too! :)

]]>
/obama-sushi/feed/ 0
Avocado Fries /avocado-fries-2/ /avocado-fries-2/#comments Fri, 17 May 2013 19:09:17 +0000 admin /?p=1364 Ingredients
1 quart of canola oil
1 avocado, medium firm to the touch
2 large eggs, beaten
1/3 cup of flour
1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
1/2 teaspoon onion powder
dash of salt
1/4 teaspoon of pepper
dash of cayenne
1 Tablespoon finely grated Parmesan Cheese
2 cups of Panko

Preparation method

]]>
/avocado-fries-2/feed/ 0
Baked Avocado Fries /baked-avocado-fries/ /baked-avocado-fries/#comments Fri, 17 May 2013 16:34:11 +0000 admin /?p=1360
Ingredients
2-3 slightly firm avocados
1 cup panko breadcrumbs
1/4 cup Parmesan cheese
1/4 cup pine nuts
3 teaspoons Cajun seasoning, divided use (or your favorite seasoning blend)
2 large eggs
1 tablespoon olive oil
1/2 cup flour or pancake mix (optional)

Preparation method

]]>
/baked-avocado-fries/feed/ 0
Jalapeno Chickpea Veggie Burgers /jalapeno-chickpea-veggie-burgers/ /jalapeno-chickpea-veggie-burgers/#comments Thu, 16 May 2013 18:09:50 +0000 admin /?p=1268 Ingredients
1/2 cup dried red lentils, rinsed and drained
1-15 oz can of chickpeas, rinsed and drained
1 tsp ground cumin
1 tsp chili powder
1 tsp sea salt, plus more to taste
1/2 cup packed cilantro
2 garlic cloves, minced
1 jalapeno, de-seeded and finely chopped
1/2 small red onion, minced
1 red bell pepper, very finely diced
1 large carrot, very finely chopped or shredded
1/4 cup oat bran or oat flour, gluten-free if desired
Lettuce or Hamburger Buns, to place patty in

Preparation method

]]>
/jalapeno-chickpea-veggie-burgers/feed/ 0
Grilled Cabbage Wedges /grilled-cabbage-wedges/ /grilled-cabbage-wedges/#comments Sun, 12 May 2013 18:58:01 +0000 admin /?p=1148 Ingredients
1/4 cup fresh lime juice
1/4 cup extra-virgin olive oil
1 teaspoon fish sauce
2 garlic cloves
1/4 cup cilantro leaves
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon cayenne
1/2 teaspoon sugar
1 head of cabbage (I used half of head of green and half a head of purple)
Canola oil

Preparation method

]]>
/grilled-cabbage-wedges/feed/ 0
Parmesan Scalloped Potato Stacks /parmesan-scalloped-potato-stacks/ /parmesan-scalloped-potato-stacks/#comments Thu, 09 May 2013 13:17:45 +0000 admin /?p=1108 Ingredients
2 garlic cloves
1 shallot
2 cups half and half *
1 cup + 1/2 cup Parmesan, freshly grated
1/2 tsp sea salt
1/4 tsp fresh ground black pepper
1 Tbs fresh thyme leaves
3 to 4 small to medium baking potatoes

Preparation method

]]>
/parmesan-scalloped-potato-stacks/feed/ 0
Healthy Baked Fries /healthy-baked-fries/ /healthy-baked-fries/#comments Thu, 09 May 2013 13:00:33 +0000 admin /?p=1092 Ingredients
3 medium russet potatoes (about 1.75 pounds)
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 teaspoon garlic powder
1 teaspoon chili powder
1 teaspoon onion powder
½ teaspoon paprika
½ teaspoon salt

Preparation method

]]>
/healthy-baked-fries/feed/ 0
Oven Baked Zucchini Chips /oven-baked-zucchini-chips/ /oven-baked-zucchini-chips/#comments Thu, 09 May 2013 12:39:11 +0000 admin /?p=1080 Ingredients
¼ cup dry whole wheat breadcrumbs
¼ cup grated fresh Parmesan cheese
¼ teaspoon seasoned salt
¼ teaspoon garlic powder
⅛ teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
¼ cup unsweetened almond milk (you could also use skim milk)
2½ cups (1/4-inch-thick) slices zucchini
Cooking spray

Preparation method

]]>
/oven-baked-zucchini-chips/feed/ 0
Spinach Avocado Stuffed Portobellos /spinach-avocado-stuffed-portobellos/ /spinach-avocado-stuffed-portobellos/#comments Tue, 07 May 2013 17:48:38 +0000 admin /?p=1067 Ingredients
2 Portobello mushrooms
6-8 Baby bellos
2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
1 1/2 cup fresh baby spinach (well packed)
1 clove garlic
1 ripe avocado
1/4 cup walnuts
1 tablespoon nutritional yeast flakes
1 tablespoon lemon juice
salt to taste
handful of sliced almonds

Preparation method

]]>
/spinach-avocado-stuffed-portobellos/feed/ 0
Oven Roasted Cauliflower /oven-roasted-cauliflower/ /oven-roasted-cauliflower/#comments Tue, 07 May 2013 15:29:01 +0000 admin /?p=1053 Ingredients
1Big Cauliflower (Cut Into Medium Size Florets)
1/4 CupOil
2 TablespoonsSambar Powder
1 TeaspoonRed Chili Powder
1/4 TeaspoonTurmeric Powder
1/4 TeaspoonHing
As Per TasteSalt
1 TablespoonCornflour

Preparation method

]]>
/oven-roasted-cauliflower/feed/ 0
Herb Roasted Potatoes /herb-roasted-potatoes/ /herb-roasted-potatoes/#comments Tue, 07 May 2013 09:38:15 +0000 admin /?p=1015 Ingredients
1 1/2 pounds Yukon Gold potatoes (I used the small ones)
1 tablespoon fresh parsley, minced
1 tablespoon fresh thyme, minced
1 tablespoon fresh chives, minced
Kosher salt or sea salt, to taste
Fresh ground black pepper, to taste
Paprika

Preparation method

]]>
/herb-roasted-potatoes/feed/ 0
Baked Zucchini Chips /baked-zucchini-chips/ /baked-zucchini-chips/#comments Tue, 07 May 2013 07:34:15 +0000 admin /?p=987 Ingredients
1 zucchini, sliced in large rounds at an angle
1/4 cup milk
1/4 cup panko bread crumbs
2 tablespoons plain bread crumbs
2 generous tablespoons grated cheese
1/4 teaspoon salt + pepper

Preparation method

]]>
/baked-zucchini-chips/feed/ 0
Cucumber Feta Rolls /cucumber-feta-rolls/ /cucumber-feta-rolls/#comments Tue, 07 May 2013 07:27:49 +0000 admin /?p=984 Ingredients
2 cucumbers
6 ounces crumbled feta
3 tablespoons Greek yogurt
2 1/2 – 3 1/2 tablespoons finely diced sundried tomatoes or red bell pepper
8 – 12 pitted kalamata olives, roughly chopped
1 tablespoon roughly chopped dill or oregano
2 teaspoons lemon juice
pinch of pepper, or to taste

Preparation method

]]>
/cucumber-feta-rolls/feed/ 0
“Better than Potatoes” Cheesy Cauliflower Puree /better-than-potatoes-cheesy-cauliflower-puree/ /better-than-potatoes-cheesy-cauliflower-puree/#comments Tue, 07 May 2013 06:25:09 +0000 admin /?p=974 Ingredients
1 head of cauliflower
2 Tbl heavy cream
1 Tbl butter
2 ounces dubliner or other sharp cheese
salt and pepper to taste

 

Preparation method

]]>
/better-than-potatoes-cheesy-cauliflower-puree/feed/ 0
Avocado Fries /avocado-fries/ /avocado-fries/#comments Mon, 06 May 2013 21:24:07 +0000 admin /?p=970 Ingredients
Oil For Frying
2 Avocados
2 Eggs, beaten
1 and 1/3 Cup Bread Crumbs
1 Teaspoon Lemon Pepper
1/2 Teaspoon Salt
1/4 Teaspoon Cumin

Preparation method

]]>
/avocado-fries/feed/ 0
Avocado, Cream Cheese, and Salsa-Stuffed Puff Pastries /avocado-cream-cheese-and-salsa-stuffed-puff-pastries/ /avocado-cream-cheese-and-salsa-stuffed-puff-pastries/#comments Mon, 06 May 2013 21:12:33 +0000 admin /?p=966 Ingredients
1 large sheet puffed pastry, thawed
1 ripe avocado, halved and mashed
1/3 cup cream cheese
1/3 cup salsa
salt and pepper, sprinkled to taste
1 egg, beaten

Preparation method

]]>
/avocado-cream-cheese-and-salsa-stuffed-puff-pastries/feed/ 0
Avocado Egg Rolls /avocado-egg-rolls/ /avocado-egg-rolls/#comments Mon, 06 May 2013 21:09:04 +0000 admin /?p=963 Ingredients
3 large ripe Avocados, sliced
1 tbsp chopped cilantro
1/4 cup sun dried tomatoes, packed in olive oil. chopped
1/2 tsp salt
Egg roll wrappers
water (for sealing edges of eggrolls)
oil (for frying)

 

Preparation method

]]>
/avocado-egg-rolls/feed/ 0
Crispy Baked Sweet Potato Fries with Chipotle Aioli /crispy-baked-sweet-potato-fries-with-chipotle-aioli/ /crispy-baked-sweet-potato-fries-with-chipotle-aioli/#comments Thu, 02 May 2013 09:21:26 +0000 admin /?p=804 Ingredients
2 medium sweet potatoes or yams
1 egg white
sea salt to taste
herbs or spices to taste

Preparation method

]]>
/crispy-baked-sweet-potato-fries-with-chipotle-aioli/feed/ 0
Simply The Most Decadent Healthy Chocolate Cake /simply-the-most-decadent-healthy-chocolate-cake/ /simply-the-most-decadent-healthy-chocolate-cake/#comments Thu, 02 May 2013 09:08:06 +0000 admin /?p=793 Ingredients
1½ cup extra dark cocoa powder
3 ripe avocados
1 cup date paste
¾ cup coconut milk (the canned variety)
6 large eggs
¾ cup (6) egg whites
½ cup water
2 tsp pure vanilla
½ tsp salt

Preparation method

]]>
/simply-the-most-decadent-healthy-chocolate-cake/feed/ 0
Stuffed Avocado Salad /stuffed-avocado-salad/ /stuffed-avocado-salad/#comments Thu, 02 May 2013 09:04:47 +0000 admin /?p=789 Ingredients
1 ripe avocado
4 tbsp fresh chives or parsley
10 cherry tomatoes
2 tbsp spirulina flakes
1/2 lemon
1/2 tsp Himalayan pink salt
fresh ground pepper

Preparation method

]]>
/stuffed-avocado-salad/feed/ 0
Eggs in Avocado Slices for a Festive Holiday Breakfast /eggs-in-avocado-slices-for-a-festive-holiday-breakfast/ /eggs-in-avocado-slices-for-a-festive-holiday-breakfast/#comments Wed, 01 May 2013 20:16:34 +0000 admin /?p=753
Preparation method

]]>
/eggs-in-avocado-slices-for-a-festive-holiday-breakfast/feed/ 0
Hasselback Potatoes /hasselback-potatoes/ /hasselback-potatoes/#comments Wed, 01 May 2013 19:35:28 +0000 admin /?p=718 Ingredients
6 Medium Size Potatoes
2 – 3 Cloves Garlic, thinly sliced
2 Tbsp Olive Oil
30 g Butter
Maldon Sea Salt
Freshly Ground Black Pepper

 

Preparation method

]]>
/hasselback-potatoes/feed/ 0
Potato and Cheese Pierogi /649/ /649/#comments Wed, 24 Apr 2013 19:10:53 +0000 admin /?p=649 Ingredients
1-1/2 lbs baking potatoes, peeled and cut into 1-inch slices
2 tablespoons unsalted butter
1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil
1 small sweet onion, chopped
1 clove garlic, minced
1/4 teaspoon dried thyme
3/4 to 1 cup grated dry farmer’s cheese
Kosher salt and freshly ground pepper to taste

Preparation method

]]>
/649/feed/ 0
Heirloom Tomato and Burrata Salad /heirloom-tomato-and-burrata-salad/ /heirloom-tomato-and-burrata-salad/#comments Sun, 21 Apr 2013 07:43:42 +0000 admin /?p=590 Ingredients
2-3 pounds heirloom tomatoes, sliced and chopped to your liking (I did a mixture of both)
2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
1 tablespoon balsamic vinegar
1 teaspoon dried oregano (use fresh if you have it on hand….to taste)
1 teaspoon sea salt
Fresh spinach, a few handfuls
8 ounces fresh Burrata cheese, sliced and torn (as best as you can) into several bite-size pieces
Fresh basil

Preparation method

]]>
/heirloom-tomato-and-burrata-salad/feed/ 0
Sweet Potato and Black Bean Enchiladas /sweet-potato-and-black-bean-enchiladas/ /sweet-potato-and-black-bean-enchiladas/#comments Sun, 21 Apr 2013 07:19:39 +0000 admin /?p=576 Ingredients
1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil
1 onion, chopped
3 cups sweet potatoes, skinned and chopped (about 2 large sweet potatoes)
One 15-ounce can fire-roasted diced tomatoes, drained
One 16-ounce container prepared salsa
2 garlic cloves, minced
1/2 cup water
One 15-ounce can black beans, drained and rinsed
1 and 1/2 cups frozen corn, thawed
One 12-ounce round of queso fresco

Preparation method

]]>
/sweet-potato-and-black-bean-enchiladas/feed/ 0
Fresh Green Bean Casserole /490/ /490/#comments Thu, 18 Apr 2013 21:01:57 +0000 admin /?p=490 Ingredients

2 medium yellow onions, thinly sliced
1/4 cup all-purpose flour
2 tablespoons panko
1 teaspoon sea salt

Preparation method

]]>
/490/feed/ 0
Broccoli Cheddar Soup /broccoli-cheddar-soup/ /broccoli-cheddar-soup/#comments Thu, 18 Apr 2013 20:59:13 +0000 admin /?p=485
Ingredients
3 tablespoons unsalted butter
1/2 small onion, chopped
1/4 cup flour
1 cup whole milk
1 cup heavy cream
3 cup vegetable broth (plus more if needed)
Pinch nutmeg
2 bay leaves
Salt and pepper, to taste
2 carrots, grated
4 cups broccoli florets
8 ounces sharp cheddar, cubed

Preparation method

]]>
/broccoli-cheddar-soup/feed/ 0
Cheese and Vegetable Quinoa Bites /cheese-and-vegetable-quinoa-bites/ /cheese-and-vegetable-quinoa-bites/#comments Thu, 18 Apr 2013 20:57:12 +0000 admin /?p=482 Ingredients
2 cups cooked quinoa
2 large eggs
3 carrots, shredded
1 and 1/2 cups fresh spinach, chopped
1 medium shallot, chopped
2 teaspoons garlic
4 ounces sharp cheddar cheese, grated **Or, to your liking
2 tablespoons flour
Sea salt and pepper, to taste

Preparation method

]]>
/cheese-and-vegetable-quinoa-bites/feed/ 0
The Green Smoothie /the-green-smoothie/ /the-green-smoothie/#comments Thu, 18 Apr 2013 20:55:11 +0000 admin /?p=479 Ingredients

1/2 cup packed curly or flat-leaf parsley (leaves and stems)
4 large kale leaves, ribs removed
1 cup frozen mixed berries (or berries of your choice)
1 banana, chopped
1 teaspoon flaxseed (use either ground or whole.  *I prefer whole because I like the little bit of crunchiness it adds.)
1 cup water

Preparation method

]]>
/the-green-smoothie/feed/ 0
Spaghetti with Bok Choy and Poached Egg /spaghetti-with-bok-choy-and-poached-egg/ /spaghetti-with-bok-choy-and-poached-egg/#comments Tue, 16 Apr 2013 16:04:42 +0000 admin /?p=412 Ingredients
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 bunch bok choy, thinly sliced
1 red bell pepper, thinly sliced
Pinch red pepper flakes
4-5 cloves garlic, minced
1 cup vegetable broth
4 large eggs, poached
1/2 pound whole wheat spaghetti
Green onions, chopped
1/2 cup Parmesan cheese, grated

Preparation method

]]>
/spaghetti-with-bok-choy-and-poached-egg/feed/ 0